It’s cold eh!

Well fellow Canadians.. how are you enjoying this cold snap?
I know most weren’t prepared as I work in the auto industry and know many, many batteries are paying the price for all those accessories and then on top of regular use, the constant running of the heater to stay warm, and keep the windshield clear.
I myself also suffered from dead battery syndrome, BUT in my defense, I didn’t have the proper battery in there to begin with (not pointing fingers on a hubby-related mechanic who may or may not have “lost” the interstate battery)
Alas, I will be buying a brand-new deep cycle battery this week.
My fat cat is currently sucking up, kneeding my thigh here to get my attention. He’s not too happy about my chaotic, ever-changing schedule. Just not enough purr time for his liking, actually purred himself to sleep last night at the side of my bed (as if he knew being on the bed would disturb hubs enough to kick him out of the bedroom)
I haven’t be prepared for my place to feel so cold. The water heating is a difference from the air-drying electric heat. I’m missing the dry air at this moment but am glad I’ve made some progress on my blanket, having 109 puffs sewn together entirely.
My bestie has a crochet request I’m very excited about completing. Honestly I do need a change of project with this huge blanket but this cold has me wanting to get even more done!
Another good friend has asked if I can make a “mitten” for someone who has a cast on during this cold time and has been unable to keep her casted hand warm. So I hope some Wal-mart brand yarn will do and that a sock with no heel would work just as well, I just don’t see how a thumb will be useful for the one large mitten, mind you I haven’t ever broken a bone.. well my heel but I didn’t seek medical help and only hobbled around a few weeks unable to put weight on the heel.. that was a chaotic time of moving myself and working at Tim Horton’s unable to give into the pain and really just not having the time to properly deal with it. A good friend of mine who was in nursing school did assure me I did indeed break a small portion. (He was lucky I didn’t kick him while he was moving the piece around!)
Anyways, I was rambling, a couple new projects may be making their debut!

I recently managed to get some local honey, two tubs of it actually! I hope to benefit from the amazing health benefits. At first I was questioning how raw honey can be different, whether it being local or store-brand most likely California/Florida local (an assumption of where it comes from) but I stumbled across the real reason LOCAL honey is the way to go.
It’s because it has the elements that surround us in our environment.
Bee Pollen:

  • is the male-germinating seed of any flower, shrub or plant.
  • It is called bee pollen because the bees collect it as they go form flower to flower and take it back to the hive as food for other bees.
  • Bee Pollen contains every known vitamin, mineral, protein (amino acids), enzymes, and co-enzymes, fatty acids, and carbohydrates that our bodies need to sustain life, and all perfect balance.
  • It is a natural vitamin.
  • Allergy sufferers find it helpful as well to take pollen on a regular basis.”

quoted from Dave’s Apiaries

From Dr Oz :

Better athletic performance

Fewer allergies

Improved sleep and relaxation

  • Honey can promote relaxation and help ease you to sleep at night. The natural sugar found in honey raises our insulin slightly and allows tryptophan, the compound famous for making us sleepy after eating turkey at Thanksgiving, to enter our brains more easily. Taking a spoonful of honey before bed can help you get restful sleep.

Healed cuts and scrapes

  • Honey has antibacterial properties that prevent infection in minor abrasions. Plus, its thickness will protect against bacteria and dirt entering a wound. Simply dab a little honey onto your cut and cover with a bandage.

Moisturizing skin

  • Honey not only attracts water but it helps absorb and retain it on hair and skin. Because of this, honey is added to countless shampoos, soaps and cosmetics. You can enjoy the moisturizing benefits of honey at home by stirring it up with milk for a facial, adding it to your bath water to soften skin, or mixing it with olive oil as a natural hair conditioner. You can even make your own moisturizing exfoliator: Just add sea salt or crushed oats to the honey and rub it on the body.

OK so I only expanded on what applies to myself. I don’t have allergies, other than the sun (UV allergy, computer screens, florescent lights, and more produce UV that I’m allergic to but require a vast amount of exposure to compared to a few moments spent in the lovely, ever warmed sunlight)
I want to try a deep conditioning honey hair treatment today.

Honey Conditioner
Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Directions
Mix honey with olive oil. Heat in microwave oven to melt and apply to wet or dry hair, then cover head with a very warm towel for half an hour while taking a warm, soothing bath, then shampoo off.

For acne:

“Honey is a natural antiseptic and many people use it as mask to help soothe and heal their skin. However, if you are allergic to bees, it’s probably not a good idea to use this mask.

Honey is superb for healing burns and small cuts. It’s also a humectant, which means it helps keep your skin moisturized. Because of all of these amazing qualities, honey is thought to treat acne as well. I mean, it’s antibacterial, it helps with wound healing, and it even keeps your skin hydrated. What more could you ask for?

But of course, there is always a catch.

Honey will help clear your skin if your acne is from bacterial problems, but if your acne is from hormones, irritation, or any of the other numerous causes of acne, then honey probably won’t do much at all. It could help soothe existing breakouts and heal irritated skin, which could help improve your complexion, but it won’t make acne disappear and never come back.”

So, if you haven’t noticed I do prefer to copy and link my sources, not that these are the original sources where I got the information from – I’m horrible for obtaining useless information but never knowing where it came from OR I’ll mix up something small! Anyways, I hope I have taught some about local honey and simply the benefits of what you have in your own kitchen towards not only inner health (where it starts!) and outer health.

🙂
Blessed be everyone!

Leave a Reply

