No ‘Poo

 Almost a year ago I wanted to stop buying from the big stores, brand names, and simply just start making things myself. 
I started with a baking soda rise and ACV (apple cider vinegar) conditioner but my hair became pretty dry and I was worried about it getting worse, and hell I decided to dye it dark anyways, so the natural regime was put aside, I secured a new job and didn’t want to go through stages of dry-greasy hair.  So I had bought a “herbal” shampoo from Shoppers.. there was nothing herbal about it other than it smelled good.
 Now I’ve settled into my job, I’m back on the “let’s make it myself” track and actually purchased some supplies for shampoo.  

Going off a simple recipe of :

1/4 cup coconut milk ($2 a box)

1/3 cup liquid castile soap (like Dr. Bronner’s) ($10.49 for 16 fl.oz)

1 tsp vitamin E, olive or almond oil

10 to 20 drops your choice of essential oils ($7.89 for 15ml)

So I found the castile soap in peppermint (promotes circulation!) and added 20 drops of ess oils of tea tree.  I used almont extract.. not sure if there’s a difference but it’s what I had.  I can’t wait to try this and if I hadn’t already showered today I would be in there now to try it out! I’m excited about this and the transition into natural hair. 

 One of these days, when I get a nice container for it, I’ll post about NOT buying laundry soap every month and only spending… $12 for what should be a years supply!!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. punkycoletta says:

    Sounds really cool. Such a good deal for a long lasting supply. And I bet it smells awesome!

    1. It does smell amazing! I can’t wait to try it out tomorrow and will post about it, certainly will be nice to wake up to in the morning. Could have used a smaller container as it doesn’t fill a subsauce container I had used. But it looks like the Castile soap will last a good amount of time and from other blogs I’ve read, once all the chemicals are out of the hair and it’s ph etc has balanced it will maintain on it’s own better requiring less washing 🙂 I’m excited.
      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

