Another Laundry Soap Batch Made

Hubs put together a roast last night and it’s been in the slow cooker all night. It smells so great right now. So I’m looking up dinner roll recipes to make to go along with it. There’s so many recipes on Pinterest .. I may have to go out and get some bread flour and the furballs some food.
The past week I had to make another batch of laundry soap.

My reasoning for making my own laundry soap: I didn’t have a car and was carrying laundry soap across town (cat food and litter where the only heavy items I was willing to make that sacrifice for)
It’s heavy.
Empty containers.
I’m forgetful!

So that being said the benefit of how AMAZINGLY cheap this is was a great bonus!

What I do:

Empty one box of Borax into a large bowl.

Empty two boxes of Baking Soda (BS) into a baking pan and bake at 400 degrees until it becomes washing soda(WS). I have not been able to find washing soda and recently found the Borax is no longer at Walmart so I will be stocking up on borax!
How this works:

Baking soda is NaHCO3 (1 sodium, 1 hydrogen, one carbon, and 3 oxygen molecules).
Washing soda is Na2CO3 (2 sodium, 1 carbon, and 3 oxygen molecules).

When baking soda is heated, it breaks down become washing soda, water steam, and carbon dioxide.

How to tell by looking at it? The best way I can put it is BS looks like sugar and WS looks like flour.

Once the WS is cooled I add it to the borax and mix thoroughly.
Untitled
After I split the mixture into two containers using my kitchen scale, I grated the soap.. classic sunlight soap in the first:
Untitled
Almost looks like cheese.. but the smell is very strong! Last time I let the soap sit opened for a couple of days to dry out some which does help. I got a couple of Lavender Bars at the dollar store for the other batch.
Untitled

Stir the soap and the powder together
Untitled

Untitled

Untitled
I get just shy of 4kg in total of laundry soap and only 1 tablespoon is used to each load. I add a good amount of sea salt to the tops of each bin and mix and shake it all together.
I can’t find where I originally read to add salt for a colour fastener, it hasn’t hurt anything. I just don’t measure it about a cup each and mix well for the last time.
Untitled

These dollar store containers do the trick! Since borax was harder to find this time I decided to make a point of stocking up.
I am very happy with the soap and I will not go back to commercialized soaps.
That’s the last time I will likely write about my laundry soap until next batch!!
Blessed Be!

Leave a Reply

