Please Pass the Elderberries

Untitled
Cinnamon, Cane Sugar, Aluminum Free Baking Soda, Cloves My loot from the Bulk Barn

The past weekend was a productive one!!!  I made some Elderberry Syrup.   It was part of my class and getting supplies for the ‘booch was the perfect time to get some more ingredients for my herbal class.
A couple cinnamon sticks, some cloves and organic garlic (since the last root I grabbed as started to sprout!) some slices of ginger, some raw honey and of course.. elderberries!

Untitled
Finished Simmering
Untitled
Strained into a jar and kept in the fridge for up to 3 months
Untitled
Bottoms Up!!! mmmmm!

Why did I make this?  Well it is an immune boosting, flu fighting syrup.  It’s the natural flu “shot” !
According to WebMD “Elderberry is used for “the flu” (influenza), H1N1 “swine” flu, HIV/AIDS, and boosting the immune system. It is also used for sinus pain, back and leg pain (sciatica), nerve pain (neuralgia), and chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) .

Some people use elderberry for hay fever (allergic rhinitis), cancer, as a laxative forconstipation, to increase urine flow, and to cause sweating.”

There is a warning not to take elderberries if you are taking an immune suppressant.

I had some a  lingering cough from the change in seasons dragging out so after it cooled enough I tried a shot. Not bad. So much better than Buckley’s, which I have maybe taken once years n years ago.  I thought the flavor in general was just a warm one.  I took another shot the next day right out of the fridge and still thought how it just was cinnamony-sweet-warm taste.  I am going to make some elderberry kombucha to try! Just think of all the health benefits packed into that bottle of fizzy goodness??

I had fun making this, if you haven’t tried it you should

L&L

Leave a Reply

