Dad

My brother wrote this a year ago about our dad.  I could describe him better myself, Jeremy captured him beautifully.  He is an amazing, loving father and looked out for everyone. 

It’s been a year since his passing; I miss him incredibly so 

  My Dad He was a great caring father to all of us, not just his kids but so many others and a great friend too. He really did touch so many people’s lives. He had the ability to roll with the punches, whatever came his way, and that trait lives on in me without a doubt. He taught me to stay calm and think logically in all situations, and deal with whatever comes up. He also taught me that just because you don’t know something now, doesn’t mean you can’t figure it out. 

 He always told me when he died he didn’t want us to dwell on it, he wasn’t afraid. If you asked him last week, “If you died now, are you happy with everything so far?” He wouldn’t have hesitated in saying yes immediately. He was extremely proud to see all 5 of his kids grow up into amazing adults and always made sure we knew that. 

 We grew up differently than most, and I wouldn’t change that for anything. He ensured that we learn to lookout for ourselves a bit younger than most kids, and because of that, he molded us into better adults now. It was hard to see when we were younger, but as I entered my 20s, I noticed that because of the way we grew up, we had a ton of life skills and lessons under our belt, all because of him. 

It’s nice now thinking about all the amazing times we had together and how much we did. Growing up spending time in garages, scrap yards, race tracks, and other people’s driveways, I would have never thought how important all of that time was. He was always teaching us, even when he didn’t intend to. He was my best teacher.  

One lesson he taught me was while doing any electrical work always keep a wooden handle broom nearby. I remember him changing a fuse panel to a breaker panel and he showed me the broom and said if he gets zapped, I was to use the wooden handle to pull him away, because if I touched him I’d be zapped too. To this day I never go near electrical wires without a broom, and surprisingly I never had to use it on him, though we’ve both been zapped a few times.  

We all knew him, the actual him, because he was always true about who he was with everyone. I admire so much about him, his compassion, his drive, his ability to always say it the way it was, regardless of what you thought. I’m proud of him for that, and I’m proud to have that quirk too. He never left any doubt about things. He might not have always been the best communicator with actual words but he was an action man, he lived life doing and not always saying. The phrase of “actions speak louder than words” has never had a greater believer than him. We all need to think of what kind of actions he did for and with us, because that’s how He truly felt. 

You probably all knew how much he enjoyed finding things, and how lucky he was. He found all sorts of things, in all sorts of places, but Jesse I believe you were one of the happiest finds he had. You only had 5 years with him, but you two quickly made up for lost time, and he was amazed at how much of him, is in you. Over the last few days, when I think he’s gone, I look around at the 5 of us and see him. Each one different, but he’s there in us. I think he did a great job in passing himself down to all of us. 

He also told me just last week, that he loves what he does, even after all these years he still enjoys going in to work to fix things and dealing with new challenges, he loved solving things. Mechanical jobs usually reference the book time, the typical time it takes a mechanic to complete the job. He was always able to complete the task faster than the book time. I would like you all to believe he lived his life that way too. The life book says you usually get 80 years here with us, he was able to do it in 54. 

In the last few years, I’ve really noticed how happy he was. He was enjoying every day and living in the present. This shows in every picture we have of him. He was happy and smiling and enjoying everything in life. In every memory I have of him he was happy and excited about what he has accomplished and the things to come. His re-connection with Jane after all these years really opened him up to live an amazing last couple of years. He couldn’t have enjoyed his trips with her any more than he did, they got to see amazing things. The things he wanted to see and do, he did with her. I know he enjoyed every minute of your time together, and remember his actions were usually louder than his words. He doesn’t want us to be upset that he is gone, he wants us to be happy that he was here.  

Another lesson we learned was about holes the body of a Station Wagon. When we were younger, Cam and I were sitting in the prime rear facing seats on the way to Toronto, we kept complaining that we felt weird and our heads felt funny, turns out there was a hole in the sheet metal of the car that was letting exhaust fumes into the car the whole way there. There was nothing he couldn’t fix though. So in the parking lot of Ontario Place with no tools needed and in true David Czink style he promptly stuffed a shop rag into the hole and we were good to go, we felt fine the whole way home. He always found a way to solve problems that’s who he was. 

This summer he was going to become a grandpa for the first time and I honestly could not have predicted how excited he was when we told him, and every day since. The timing of his loss has hit Katie and I very hard. Just 8 more weeks to one of the happiest days of his life I’m sure. He did leave us with something to hold on to though. We will never be able to forget how excited he was about it. He had the biggest smile just thinking about it. He always asked how things were going whenever he saw us and always wanted to see how Katie and baby were growing. I was so excited for him to be a grandpa too, I had so many thoughts of what an amazing grandpa he would be. I pictured him taking my son or daughter to the scrap yard looking for car parts and having the grandkid explore the old cars looking for treasures just like I did with him. I wanted him to take my kids to Monster truck shows, Car races, movies, school trips and zoo’s. Now that he’s gone, I’ve realized why I was looking forward to all of that. I wanted my father to do all of that stuff my children, because he did it with me. What I really want, is to be a dad like him. I want my kids to be proud of me, just like I am of him. He taught me everything I know, and when I didn’t know, he gave me all the skills and drive to figure it out. We both wouldn’t think twice about taking something apart that doesn’t work, just to see if we could figure it out. 29 years in and I’m not as good as he was, but I want to pass everything I learned from him, onto my own kids, because I know that’s what he would have done.  

When I called him and said “I’ve got something that doesn’t work, I’ve taken it apart and can’t figure it out” he was excited about helping me out, and showing me everything he knew. I actually looked forward to needing his help with things. If he came over and I didn’t need his help with anything he’d still find something for us to do together. And when I visited him, he was always eager to show me what he was working on or what he had built.  

The last time I saw him was great, it was just like every time I saw him. He was a constant for me, always there and always the same. I’ll hold on to that forever. 

See you when I see you 

Love JAC  

Leave a Reply

